Dialog Box


Our People

Board of Directors

Hepatitis Victoria is overseen by a Board of Directors. The Board consists of:

  • seven elected members;
  • one person from a community organisation representing the interests of people who inject drugs;
  • one person representing the interests of culturally diverse people;
  • one person representing the interests of Aboriginal people;
  • one person representing the interests of people from rural Victoria;
  • one person with special skills or expertise required by Hepatitis Victoria as determined by the Board; and
  • the Chief Executive Officer of Hepatitis Victoria (non-voting position)

Election of Board members takes place at the Annual General Meeting.

Board Members:

Frank Carlus (President)

Frank is a former state public servant with over 32 years’ experience in the Department of Human Services/Department of Health.  In that time he worked in direct care, policy and senior management positions across a range of services.

Jennifer MacLachlan (Vice President)

Jennifer is an epidemiologist with the WHO Collaborating Centre for Viral Hepatitis, Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratory based at The Doherty Institute, Melbourne. She has postgraduate degrees in biological science and epidemiology, and has helped develop clinical guidelines and government policy at a state, national and international levels.


Kieran Donoghue (Treasurer)

Kieran is General Manager, Policy at an industry advocacy organisation.  Prior to this he qualified as a chartered accountant with Deloitte in London and spent several years in a variety of finance roles at international companies.

Ross Williams (Secretary and Public Officer)

Ross worked as a psychology academic until he was diagnosed with hepatitis C in 2006. Two liver transplants and four interferon treatments later, today the virus is no longer detectable. Ross brings his strong interest in issues in treatment and transplantation.

Dr Nicole Allard

Nicole is a GP in a community health centre.  Her areas of interest include refugee health, hepatitis B community care, and working with CALD communities.  She has initiated a hepatitis B clinic with support from the Integrated Hepatitis B service at the Royal Melbourne Hospital.

Jarrod McMaugh 

Jarrod is a primary care pharmacist with a specific interest in liver health, harm minimisation, and reducing stigma in healthcare.

Eddie Micallef

Eddie is currently Deputy Chair of the Ethnic Communities Council of Victoria, Chair’s the ECCV Health Committee and their Drugs Task Force and is a member of the Inner South Community Health Centre Board of Management.  Previously a Victorian parliamentarian he was a member of its Drugs and Crime Committee.

Phoebe Trinidad

Phoebe is a nurse specialising in liver disease in both the acute and community settings. Phoebe has a background in international health and is passionate about delivering health care that is therapeutic, accessible and sustainable.

Donna Ribton-Turner

Donna is currently the Director of Clinical Services at Uniting Care ReGen. She has extensive experience in the health sector including in hospitals in Australia and overseas, including mental health services – and is a registered nurse (general and psychiatric.

Melanie Eagle (Non-Voting CEO)

With formal qualification in Law, Arts and Social Work Melanie has worked in the public and private sectors including in the areas of future city strategic planning, social policy and women’s policy, equal opportunity, and as a private sector solicitor.