Dialog Box


AGM stars dazzle and community awards

16 October 2018

The Hepatitis Victoria Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held today where the organisation launched its 2017-18 Annual Report and recognised those who have made a significant contribution to the community.

Hepatitis Victoria President, Frank Carlus and Chief Executive Officer, Melanie Eagle gave presentations where they outlined major activities and achievements of note in the past year. An electronic version of the 2017-18 Annual Report, a summary of major projects, reports and financial statements can be found here.

Highlights of the AGM included the appearance by video link of Karen Hoyt, our first international HEP Hero live from her home in Oklahoma, USA.  Karen spoke passionately about her extraordinary journey from living with hepatitis C, undergoing transplant and recovery, to liver health advocate, sports champion and blogger with an international reputation. 

Ilbijerri Theatre's Blayne Welsh, joined the event in person talking about his acting work on 'Viral' a recent production focussed on hepatitis C in the lives of Indigenous people.

A podcast of Blayne's talk can be found here.

The winners of our annual community awards were also announced.  Aye Aye Khaing, Manuela Urdiste, Robert Leitermann and Lisa Doyle received nominations for the Mark Farmer Memorial Award with volunteer Andree Dolby the recipient.

Jason Chuen received the Organisation Collaboration Award on behalf of the Australian-Chinese Medical Association of Victoria (ACMAV) and there were two nominations for the Individual Contribution Award, Dr David Iser and Dr Anouk Dev with gastroenterologist Dr David Iser receiving the award.

 Andree Dolby received the Mark Farmer Memorial Award for her tireless efforts as a volunteer with particular emphasis for her work promoting Little Hep B Hero a resource for families.

"I am very honoured to have won the Mark Farmer Award because it symbolises positive response to liver disease and it prompts memory of who is not here," said Andree.

"The award celebrates Mark Farmers role in advocacy, and collaboration and Karen Hoyt is absolutely right when she says that Hepatitis Victoria is very much a part of and leader global response and I am very happy to part of that – so very cool!

 The Australian-Chinese Medical Association of Victoria (ACMAV) were our core partners in the creation of the Chinese Health Promotion Coalition and are a long-standing and important stakeholder.

Dr David Iser, the recipient of the Individual Contribution Award is a gastroenterologist who has worked collaboratively with Hepatitis Victoria for many years providing staff with professional development on liver health as well as supporting strategic planning.

House-keeping matters at the AGM included a farewell to outgoing Board member Uyen Vo, and a farewell to retiring staff member Garry Irving. 

Category: News